Skip to main content

Ronald Jordan, DTCC Chief Data Officer

The U.S. Department of the Treasury has announced the 30 distinguished professionals in economics, finance, financial services, data management, risk management and information technology, who will serve on the Financial Research Advisory Committee of the Office of Financial Research (OFR). Ronald Jordan, DTCC Chief Data Officer

Among the committee members selected by Treasury is Ronald Jordan, DTCC Chief Data Officer. Other members include two Nobel laureates in economics; leaders in business and nonprofit fields; and prominent researchers at major universities and think tanks.

The committee held its inaugural meeting December 5 in Washington, D.C.

OFR and the new committee
The Dodd-Frank Act established the OFR within the U.S. Department of the Treasury. The OFR serves the Financial Stability Oversight Council, its member agencies and the public by improving the quality, transparency and accessibility of financial data and information; conducting and sponsoring research related to financial stability; and promoting best practices in risk management.

“We are pleased that such a distinguished group will serve on the Advisory Committee of the OFR,” said Deputy Secretary of the Treasury Neal Wolin. “We look forward to their valuable contributions to the OFR’s mission of improving the quality of financial data and facilitating more robust and sophisticated analysis of risks to the financial system.”

The committee will:

  • Provide advice to the OFR, bringing diverse perspectives to inform the OFR’s research-and-data agendas and to help the OFR fulfill its mission.
  • Work with the OFR to develop and employ best practices for data management, data standards and research methodologies.
  • Form subcommittees to focus on research, data, technology, risk management and other issues.

Committee members were selected from a diverse group of more than 150 applicants. The Office solicited applications from the general public through a March 2012 Federal Register notice.@

[To see the full list of committee members, visit the OFR website.]